Spice Up Your Life!

11 Mar

IMG_4917

Losing weight is hard, no secret there. Maintaining weight loss is also a challenge. It can be a lot of work to stay motivated and keep up the momentum. I have found that trying a new food, testing out a recipe, or running a different route can keep things exciting and helps me focus. Sometimes you just have to spice up your life!

My routine has become boring lately and I knew it was time to switch things up. I had friends coming over for dinner and I wanted to make something we could all enjoy and that I would be comfortable eating – plus I could use the leftovers throughout the week! This recipe is simple and delicious, and all the flavors from the spices really help step it up.

I prepped the chicken and onions this morning and let it marinate all day while I was at work. When I got home, everything was ready to go and just needed to be cooked – super simple. The original Weight Watchers recipe is for kebabs but I just cooked it on the stove. I served the chicken with roasted eggplant, quinoa and homemade tzatiki sauce.

IMG_4930 IMG_4933
Moroccan Chicken ‘Kebabs’ (4 servings/5 PointsPlus)
Ingredients:
1 1/4 pounds, uncooked boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 tablespoon, unsweetened orange juice
1/2 teaspoon, ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon, ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon, ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon, ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon, table salt
1/4 teaspoon, garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon, freshly ground black pepper
1/2 uncooked large onion

Instructions:
1. Cut the chicken and onion into 1-inch pieces.
2. Mix the chicken, onion, orange juice and all spices in a large bowl. Cover and refrigerate for 6 hours.
3. Saute the chicken and onions together on the stove top until chicken is cooked through.

PS – look forward to a week of 90’s hit music themed blog posts. Ginger Spice is really excited and you should be too. 

Questions? Other tips? Share your thoughts here!

