The Best Decision I Ever Made

2 Mar

How do you start a blog; what do you say first? The beginning seems appropriate, if only I knew what that was. Four years ago I was driving back to school after winter break – it was my senior year, graduation wasn’t too far off and I was headed for the ‘real world.’ I was a decent student, active on campus, unsure of my future plans, but most of all I was unhappy.

Making the decision to lose weight wasn’t new for me; I had probably said it so many times before. There was a brief attempt in high school, somewhat successful actually, but it didn’t last.  This time though, the decision was all mine and for the first few months only a few people even knew I was attending Weight Watchers meetings and trying to lose weight.

Joining a structured program like WW was important to help me in the beginning and the weekly meetings kept me accountable. It was also mine. Every Thursday I drove to another town, away from school and friends, and I was paying my own membership dues. Most people in my life had no idea what I was up to. The best decision I ever made wasn’t trying to get healthy, or committing to a program – it was deciding to do all of these things for myself.  I wasn’t losing weight for anyone else, I wasn’t trying to prove something to anyone else, I had a personal mission and only myself to answer to.

Questions? Other tips? Share your thoughts here!

